Diesel Fuel questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kingthrob

Vessel Make
1973 Marine Trader 34 Sedan
Diesel Fuel questions...I Googled these and get different answers. I am new to diesel.

How long does it last without degrading to point that it should not be used?

Is there a difference diesel fuel from Automobile gas station or Marina? Besides price.

What products/additives should be added?

Do you keep extra fuel aboard in 5 gal containers?

Any good advice regarding diesel fuel?

I don't have a definitive answer for you, but I kept a tank of diesel for almost 2 years during my refit. Didn't use any additives. I'm sure there was some amount of Asphaltene that precipitated out of the diesel, that's easily picked up by the fuel filters. How long a time were you considering?

Ted

It was just a general question regarding fuel life. I have about 150 gallons of diesel onboard and at approximately 2 gallon burn per hour (I think) I do not expect to use that much in the foreseeable future. 120 hp Lehman. 1974 Marine Trader 34 Sedan.

It was just a general question regarding fuel life. I have about 150 gallons of diesel onboard and at approximately 2 gallon burn per hour (I think) I do not expect to use that much in the foreseeable future. 120 hp Lehman. 1974 Marine Trader 34 Sedan.

Use your boat more next summer and it won't be a problem. ;)

Ted

75 hours of running isn't a lot of time to burn up in a year or two and if the diesel isn't more than a year or so I wouldn't expect any issues with good filtration.

With your long, warm summers I would add Biobor or any additive that inhibits microbe growth. When I burned through maybe half of it, I would add another fresh 75 gallons or so.

Water laying under fuel is bad from a bacterial growth issue as well as shutting down your engine in the worst sea conditions. Keep extra filters and learn how to change them.