The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

capran

Vessel Name
Honu
Vessel Make
Helmsman 38/Mariner Saville 37
Just posted a question about a possible purchase of a Helmsman 38E. I've been sailing for 40 years, 13 years in the Bahamas and the rest of the time in the Pacific Northwest. (the last 21 years in a Catalina 34). We've spent every summer since 1986 living aboard a boat traveling full time only 2 1/2 months every summer. Am quite apprehensive about entering the trawler age, and know I have much to learn. Nervous as heck would be an understatement. :eek:

Just posted a question about a possible purchase of a Helmsman 38E. I've been sailing for 40 years, 13 years in the Bahamas and the rest of the time in the Pacific Northwest. (the last 21 years in a Catalina 34). We've spent every summer since 1986 living aboard a boat traveling full time only 2 1/2 months every summer. Am quite apprehensive about entering the trawler age, and know I have much to learn. Nervous as heck would be an understatement. :eek:

Capran have no fear. As an ex-sailor myself, I can tell you that with all that sailing experience, apart from the nuts and bolts differences over looking after, servicing, and using a much larger engine, and a few other differences, you will find the transition a breeze.