Old 10-05-2020, 11:14 PM   #1
Guru

City: Inside Passage Summer/Columbia River Winter
Vessel Name: Alaskan Sea-Duction
Vessel Model: 1988 M/Y Camargue YachtFisher
How to Dock a Boat Correctly

I came across this little video. Might help someone out there in TF land.

https://youtu.be/Mx0LEAWsE_k
Alaskan Sea-Duction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 03:59 AM   #2

City: Santa Barbara
I have a single screw boat. No thruster. I'm not that good at docking but think I'd be better if I had any of the setups in the vid. Here is my limited little bag of tricks that help me with a single screw:
1) Go slow
2) Steering a boat steers the stern, not the bow
3) Reverse is a brake
4) Have a game plan for getting in and out of a slip. share it with crew before you're at the slip
5) Get people on the dock to help.
6) Don't singlehand. This rule is even more crucial once you're underway
7) If you get all messed up don't panic, go to NEUTRAL. Reassess. people will normally help and you can always use your hands to push off of other docked boats
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 07:43 AM   #3
Guru

City: Bethlehem, PA
Vessel Name: Lady Kay V
Vessel Model: 1978 Hatteras 53MY
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianG View Post
I have a single screw boat. No thruster. I'm not that good at docking but think I'd be better if I had any of the setups in the vid. Here is my limited little bag of tricks that help me with a single screw:
1) Go slow
3) Reverse is a brake
4) Have a game plan for getting in and out of a slip. share it with crew before you're at the slip
7) If you get all messed up don't panic, go to NEUTRAL. Reassess. people will normally help and you can always use your hands to push off of other docked boats
I suggest you research and understand the concept of "Prop Walk". It is an essential tool in single screw boat handling.
Old 10-06-2020, 08:34 AM   #4
Guru

City: Malmö
Vessel Name: ABsolutely FABulous
Vessel Model: Greenline 33 Hybrid (2010)
Quote: