Cruising With A Firearm

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
This is a timely discussion, for me anyway. Apologies for the long winded post.

I'm planning my first trip down the ICW for this fall, and am considering the potential benefits of having a firearm on board. As an NRA instructor and CCW holder in multiple states, I have some experience with firearms and the law.

I know that this will be an entirely personal decision, but I'm conflicted. I have not read (or heard) of ANY incidents on this route where a boater was confronted, and successfully defended himself (herself) with a firearm. Sure, there are stories of rowdy folks on shore partying near public docks, but that is only a perceived potential threat, not an actual one.

For folks with CCW permits, the only place I've heard (read) that a loaded firearm cannot be on the boat is near the Naval yards in Norfolk. Unloaded firearms should be good to go for everyone else, everywhere else from the Chesapeake Bay south. This assumes that the firearm complies with all federal, state and local ordinances, and that the owner is not a prohibited person.

As the saying goes, "It's better to have it and not need it". I'd add that it's better to not use it if at all possible. No matter how legally justified we might be in defending our lives (not property), the aftermath of a shooting is horrific, as well as expensive. God forbid that the person we shoot is of a different ethnicity than we are, as then the incident will become more about race and prejudice than it is about self defense. It will be purely coincidental what folks look like in a life and death situation, but the media will make it seem as though there was an agenda in place that caused the boater to "plan" to shoot somebody, and hope for the chance to do so.