Safe offshore?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

masonturner

Hey all. I am still new to the Trawler life (coming from SV to MV). I am on the Texas Gulf Coast. I have a Californian 34 LRC. Should I be concerned about rolling the boat or anything like this in rough weather? Please share your experiences. I think I am ok, just haven't had the experience yet and looking for feedback.

There are definitely conditions that boat won't survive. But for coastal cruising, those conditions should be easily avoidable. And for the most part, you'll be miserable and hating the ride before the boat is in real danger.

I'm sure others with personal experience with the 34 LRC will come along and give some of their experiences.

Greetings,
Welcome aboard. As Mr. r says "... those conditions should be easily avoidable." I can't comment on either the differences in handling weather or the "ride" of your new vessel as compared to any sail boat but MY rule is "If in doubt-don't go out".

BIG difference IF you get caught out either through poor judgment or inaccurate forecast in which case, it's often been said that a boat can take a lot more than the humans aboard can. Be safe.

"Rough weather" is a relative term. For ease of discsussion, the Beaufort Scale helps even though it is a bit misleading as it assumes unlimited fetch and wind has enough duration to affect seas to the extent shown in the on-water sea state. In other words, Beaufort Scale targets wind-waves, not swells generated from far away.

https://www.spc.noaa.gov/faq/tornado/beaufort.html

I would not knowlingly go out in more than Force 4 conditions, mostly due to comfort. Assuming stuff has been properly secured, boat should hold together through Force 6 but it will be a miserable ride with bruises to show for it. It just isn't fun and your guests will hate you for it.