Driving boat on and off plane in heavier seas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rsn48

Guru
Vessel Name
Capricorn
Vessel Make
Mariner 30 - Sedan Cruiser 1969
So for your full displacement guys and galls, you can ignore this video though it might be helpful for dinghy driving. I found this video helpful with driving a boat through up sea, side sea, down sea and quartering:

Last edited:
Boring,

pete

I'm about a third of the way in. I wouldn't say it's boring, myself. Sure, maybe you could get all the same info on one page of text; but isn't part of the point to just enjoy some time out on the water with some nice people? Also, I think it may be geared a bit more toward beginners than old salts like you.

I'm not a beginner, but I've always had either fast boats on small lakes (so no swells), or sailboats on big water (no planing to "worry" about). So I can always pick up some tips, and if they are presented by pleasant, well-spoken people on a nice sunny day, great.

(Side note, another way I picked up some tips was by watching, of all things, the "Haulover" videos of endless boats going in and out the inlet. Most blast through, but every once in awhile a boat comes in slow and neat as a pin, riding the back of a wave just as these women suggest. No drama, just smooth sailing :)

Anyway, thanks for posting the link rsn48. I'll watch the rest and enjoy some sunny time on the water and perhaps pick up a tip or two.

For those who wrote it off as "boring" I'm curious: Is it because you thought it was a badly made video? Or is it just that the material is nothing you are interested in because you either already know it, or it doesn't apply to you?

(I got distracted helping someone on a project and still haven't watched the second 2/3.)