Negotiations After Oil Samples

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Diverrob

Vessel Name
Sounder
Vessel Make
Mainship 34T
Hey everyone!

I’m asking for a friend who is in the final process of buying a boat. He has just got the results back for the transmission oil sample and the mechanic recommended a rebuild/replacement. He wants to move forward with the purchase and do the required repair however wants to re-negotiate the purchase price a little. What would be a fair offer to offset the cost of the repair. I don’t know the price but would guess in around the 5K mark. It’s a 30 year old boat (34’ Catalina sailboat) so asking the seller to cover the entire cost may not be realistic. Would 60% be in the realm of fair? Thanks for your input on this

Rob

I am not an expert on this subject. However, from what I have read on websites like sbmar.com (Tony Athens, a well respected marine mechanic), relying on a single oil sample is actually "unreliable". :) You usually need a relatively long history of regular oil samples to 'get the complete' story.
I suggest your friend go to Tony's forum at that website and ask that question posting a copy of the actual oil report. He would get a better answer there most likely. Is it possible that his "mechanic" is looking for a "make work project"or at the minimum over reacting? I have no idea, but just saying, is that possible. Tony would know. There are members here who, if they could see this report, may be able to offer a good opinion as well.
Good luck.

There are fewer variables in a transmission oil sample as there is no combustion gasses. So if the oil sample shows very high iron or copper from bearings particularly with high sodium from seawater intrusion, then I would tend to believe it.