Elling E4 Sea-trial thoughts

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wartowne

Hello TF Members!
I have lurked and learned from this forum for several years now, and have enjoyed the banter and witty humor from many throughout that time. I myself am not nearly as wise or knowledgeable and admit I have much to learn!
About us...we are former owners of the beautiful 2008 American Tug 435 "Cow Wrecked" which we were truly proud of and enjoyed immensely. It is the vessel that made us realize we were "Trawler Folk" at heart.
My background is boating, fishing, and scuba diving on the East Coast of Florida where I was born and raised. I went off to college and then to the US Coast Guard where I served aboard the USCGC Sedge WLB402, an Ice breaking buoy tender (decommissioned) and then in Florida as a BM2 SAR Coxswain and Boarding Officer at USCG Station Ponce De Leon Inlet. I mainly operated the venerable 41UTB (also decommissioned) and various RHIB's. I also have flown a variety of aircraft including, fixed wings, gyroplanes, and helicopters, some of which I built myself! :eek:
My wife and I have spent a lot of time bareboat sailing monohulls and sail-cats in the Caribbean, when we weren't enjoying our own "vessel of freedom!"
Recently, we had the good fortune of being able to spend an entire day sea trialing the Elling E4 demo boat in Maryland. This is the same E4 that was at Trawler Fest and others. We had researched Elling as much as one can with the internet, this forum, and by asking around to mentors, The overall consensus was that very few people were even aware of this brand in the USA. From pictures, lots of YouTube videos translated from Russian, and reviews, we traveled to Maryland with a short list of concerns that would be deal breakers if not met.
They were: