Boat handling opinions (on me...not the boat!)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mncruiser

Vessel Name
Phoenix
Vessel Make
Mainship 390
Going to outfit and shakedown cruise a new to us 2001 Mainship 390.

2001 Mainship 390
- Single Yanmar 300
- Bow thruster
- Articulated rudder
- Lots of fenders (Ha!)

I'm coming from a 2006 Monterey 302 cruiser that had twin Bravo III's. I was an excellent pilot of that boat. My home slip was in what my marina neighbors called "the impossible spot", but with practice it was easy for me. I know this boat will be much different.

I have some fixit projects to do, but will be taking the boat out where it is now locally for 2-3 days (protected lake/bay on Lake MI) before a voyage from Michigan to Wisconsin. I do have a delivery captain for that drive home. He's a teacher too.

Anyway, what do you all think my biggest challenges will be?

I've watched a lot of videos on all this stuff, but I'm a hands-on learner. Also, most of these videos are people aiming the camera at their head and talking too much. Once I'm not a fool, maybe I'll make some non-sucky videos on back and fill and all the other techniques. Can you imagine a video showing the boat, rudder position, throttle and shifter...and not some guy's head with his Yanni music playing in the background? I can!!

I'm looking for areas to really think about, and maybe problems you had coming into a similar boat. Things you wish someone had told you.

Thanks!

MN

Last edited: