Hey y'all!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dreamliving

Vessel Make
Marine trader 33
Hey y'all,

So I just bought my boat, a '72 Marine Trader 33. This is my first time as a "big" boat owner and first time posting here. Any advice for a newbie? My plan is to do the Great Loop starting in January so I am trying to get everything in order now with the boat. I look forward to checking out the forums as I'm sure there is a ton of great information on here. See y'all on the water!

Brent

Welcome aboard. Where are you starting from?

Brent, welcome to Trawlerforum! You've gone down the rabbit hole now. Best of luck with your new boat.

I am starting from Pensacola as that is where I bought the boat. I have owned a restaurant for the past 6 years and have worked my butt off so now I am ready for an adventure and believe me I know a boat this old is definitely gonna be an “adventure” ��

Or Sea Tow on the East Coast, whichever has the better presence.

Well you came to the right place to start reading. Good luck and welcome aboard!

Welcome aboard! What ever you do, don’t ask about anchors! You’ll start a never ending battle on this forum. Suffice it to say your anchor is too small, it’s the wrong kind and you don’t have enough chain.

If I may be so bold, if underway on a journey of that extent I would purchase both BoatUS and SeaTow insurance. Having the dual coverage can be helpful.

Add a Stop Anchor (something you can deploy from the cockpit in case the worst happens and you need to stop the boat immediately. I lost power (bad fuel) and without the stop anchor Seaweed could have been in trouble. Instead, it was a minor issue. My spare had only 10 or 15' of chain and the rest (fifty feet) of 1/2" three strand. That stopped my boat before I ended up on shore. It was scary at the moment however, that anchor saved my bacon. I believe everyone needs a stop anchor.