Open CPN GPS issue

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dvarholy

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Julie
Vessel Make
Tradewinds 43
In need of help. I have been using Open CPN on a rugged laptop for years. The Open CPN suddenly was not working correctly, so I updated to a later version. Now, everything works, except the GPS, which was working before the update. The GPS unit is embedded into my computer. I don't know what else to try, and have no way to change everything back? I am not an IT expert.

Daniel

In need of help. I have been using Open CPN on a rugged laptop for years. The Open CPN suddenly was not working correctly, so I updated to a later version. Now, everything works, except the GPS, which was working before the update. The GPS unit is embedded into my computer. I don't know what else to try, and have no way to change everything back? I am not an IT expert.

Daniel

Do you have another program installed to see if the GPS is functioning? In Windows device manager is the GPS seen -- enabled?

Thanks, Just can't figure it out. I don't understand baud rates, COM ports, or NMEA stuff. Just have to buy a replacement and start over.

Daniel

What model laptop? That'd help knowing. If it has GPS 'embedded' then it's going to be likely appear as some sort of COM port. All you likely need do is find that port and tell OpenCPN to use it for GPS. COM ports on Windows can be a tricky thing if you change/remove/add ports (like via USB connections). I wouldn't think an 'embedded' unit would change it's COM port... but without knowing the make/model of the laptop it'd hard to say.

It's not much to understand and certainly better than introducing the potential for a whole slew of other problems going with a 'replacement'.

Daniel
Thanks, Just can't figure it out. I don't understand baud rates, COM ports, or NMEA stuff. Just have to buy a replacement and start over.

Daniel