Old 01-26-2022, 08:49 PM   #1

City: Chattanooga
Vessel Model: Helmsman Trawler 38E
Furuno and Navionics

Looks like Navionics wonít be part of the Furuno map package after March 25th. A Furuno tech I spoke with told me that if you already have it loaded on your. Chart plotter, that it will remain but will not be updated after that. So, if you use Navionics on Furuno, you might want to update before that date to get the latest changes.
Helmsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 09:26 PM   #2

City: Farmville
Vessel Name: Gon Bei
Vessel Model: GB 49 Classic #110
New to Furuno

I'm new to Furuno and just beginning to learn its idiosyncrasies. If I have a Furuno Navionics plotter, will I have to replace it in order to update charts in the future?
clburti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 09:40 PM   #3
FWT
Guru

City: Centreville MD
Vessel Model: Helmsman Trawlers 38E
Wow

Garmin not playing nice?

The Simrad auto route capability is built on Navionics. You have to have Navionics to do it. Wondering if they are getting screwed too?
FWT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 09:45 PM   #4
FWT
Guru

https://boatingindustry.com/news/202...chartplotters/

Must be related. Perhaps some new format won't display on Furuno. Or something.
Old 01-26-2022, 09:51 PM   #5

I think they are combining active captain and Navionics. You should still be able to autoroute in the Navionics app, then export the gpx file. Then import to CMaps or other navigation software.
Old 01-26-2022, 10:09 PM   #6

City: NEW PORT RICHEY
Vessel Name: M/V Intrigue
Vessel Model: 1985 Tung Hwa Senator
Yeah Garmin just announced The new software Navionics Vision+. It comes with a 1 year subscription with daily updates. After 1 year I think its $14 a month for the updates. You can just do the subscription for the Navionics portion? Maybe you can buy the Navionics subscription for updates?