Welding expertise

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Seevee

Guru
Vessel Make
430 Mainship
Need some welding expertise to get a welding machine. I've got a chance to pick up some rather new (and some old) welding machine fairly reasonable and have a few projects I'd like to do.

One of the projects is reinforcing a boat lift, where welding 3/8 and 7/16 aluminum will be necessary. I'm thinking of TIG because it makes a better weld than MIG. I've had some experience but it's been decades ago.

My question is what size and power of a machine will I need?

The other projects I have are smaller and not much of a critical issue.

A big one. Al takes lots of heat and needs some skill. As much as I like my tig welder, heavy aluminum is probably better welded with a mig but you'll need a push-pull gun for aluminum filler and at least 240 volts. You might look at a generator-welder, heavy but portable with a truck unless power access is easy.

If it's a small project, it makes way more sense to hire a pro unless the equipment will be used a lot.

Check out Weldingweb.com, excellent info site. Ask your question there and you'll get a better response than from me. Or Jody's welding tips.

Hiring a welder with portable equipment would probably cost less and do a better job, especially on aluminum.
To weld thick aluminum you'd need something to practice on and get your technique right before welding something where you want a nice weld.
I was certified in all major welding types and all positions. Then didn't strike an arc for 30 years. I had to practice to get the skills back.