Overkill in boat selection for normal cruising

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Came to trawlers after a life of sail including full time international cruising and passages. Prior boat was built for me to my specs and was my eighth cruising boat. Due to wife’s balance after fracturing her ankle it was time to move to power. Initially wanted a Nordhavn. Thought nothing else would do. Thought then I’d be capable of continuing our prior program. Fortunately I have friends who captain for a living. To summarize they said
Blue water you’ve done that and been there. You haven’t coastal cruised your own country.
If you are going to be coastal (I think running on any continental shelf as near shore/coastal) you will drive yourself nuts in a FD hull. Having the ability to speed up is safety factor and allows you make new to you landfalls in the daylight or at slack tide.
Your focus on having an “A” boat isn’t reality based. In fact a “B” boat will serve and may even be safer.
Historically the big troubles I’ve gotten into have all been coastal (knockdowns, micro bursts, storms(strict definition) etc,). Still think coastal is more dangerous and requires more skills than blue water. So still think a strong, well maintained, well outfitted, good design is wise coastal or open ocean. So get the best boat you can afford and maintain and afford the cruising expenses. Expense isn’t just purchase price. I’d rather be on a 28’ Bristol Channel cutter of 30 years than a new A rated 50’ French production boat in weather or long passage. Same holds true for coastal cruising in power.
It took us a full year to get our brand new prior boat the way I wanted it. Think it will take 2-3 years for this one. I was told long ago fix important stuff right off. But use the boat a bunch before changing/replacing other stuff. Need that use experience to make good choices.