Old 08-10-2022, 03:09 AM   #1

City: Hong Kong
Filling diesel fuel tanks

Hi all
I'm a newbie
53 foot POWLES cruiser with V8 92's
I plan to get fuel at a fuel barge ( good price) but am concerned about fuel contamination.
I have a home built fuel polisher but is there any way of cleaning the fuel as it is pumped on board without substantially slowing fill time
Main fuel tank is 2000 liters, plan about 500 liter initially
Any tips?
Many thanks
Werner P
wernerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2022, 04:24 AM   #2

City: Cairns
For 500ltrs, a large filtering funnel will suffice.

If you are going to be doing regular 2000ltr fills, with very dirty fuel or fast pumps you can build a larger version using drop in filters. See 12:40 on the attached video: https://youtu.be/wlYzP6nZA1Y

Either way, ensure that your onboard filters have an effective water separator.
Attached Thumbnails
Screenshot_2022-08-10-19-06-17-62_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg  
GoneDiving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2022, 08:12 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Black Dog
Vessel Model: Formula 41PC
Welcome aboard. If the barge is delivering fuel every day then they probably maintain their filters. I would ask the company how they filter the fuel. If they are a reputable company then you are probably ok.
Comodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2022, 08:44 AM   #4
Guru

City: Narragansett Bay
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 36 Classic #715
Agree with Dave. The barge should be able to give you specifications has to how and to what level the fuel is filtered. You will probably be one of their smaller customers. Commercial people will demand this information I would think. Find one of their regular customers and get some feedback.
Old 08-10-2022, 03:18 PM   #5

City: North NJ
Vessel Name: Bassey
Vessel Model: 17' Bass
If they turnover a lot of fuel you will be ok.
TowLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2022, 03:57 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus