Yanmar Elbows - Do these need replacing?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

garmstro55

Vessel Name
Seventh Sojourn
Vessel Make
Mainship 400
I have twin Yanmar 4LHA-STP engines on a Mainship I bought in 2018. Previous owner said the elbows were recently replaced but didn't have the exact dates.

Earlier this year a Yanmar mechanic was doing a valve adjustment and mention the elbows might need replacing by observing a small amount of external surface rust.

Yesterday I attempted to take one of the elbows off to inspect. Unfortunately is was stuck in the exhaust hose and I ran out of time to remove it. However, I did get a couple of photos looking inside the elbow.

I would appreciate any opinions as to the condition of the elbow as best as can be determined from the pictures. It looks ok to me but I am no expert.

Also to be noted, the elbow exhaust temperatures were measured last summer with an infra-red thermometer to be around 125 degress F. I was told by someone else that 190 to 200 was an indicator of a bad elbow, so is 125 an indicator of a good one?

Thanks.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2023-12-27 133019.jpg
    Screenshot 2023-12-27 133019.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 15
  • Screenshot 2023-12-27 132916.jpg
    Screenshot 2023-12-27 132916.jpg
    71.2 KB · Views: 13
On my Yanmar 6lya-stp, I replaced mine at the 15 year mark and they were in great shape. I think yours look fine. If you decide to replace, get the HDI version. They were great to deal with and they look really nice installed.
Btw, the 4lya is a great little motor!!!

-Rich

Those look like cast SS and the surface rust is from the steel casting tooling. Looks fine to me.

David

I have helped a friend replacing his exhaust elbow and the mixing elbow on his Yanmar. Sir, yours is in great condition!

Thanks for the feedback. I appreciate it.