Seastar power steering oil resevoir??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PasadenaPhil

Veteran Member
Vessel Make
1986 Fu Hwa 42’
I am relatively new to the boat. I purchased her back in September 19 and have spent the winter under the shrinkwrap sealing and sanding the teak, replacing the impellers and engine anodes, gen-set fuel pump and impeller. some other minor maintenance issues. I now need to check the fluid level and pressure on my power steering. I see it says between 25-30psi and I can see where I attach the air line. What I don't see is the fill cap? do I unscrew the valve-stem and fill there? and then re-pressurize?

A picture would help, but on mine, the large aluminum nut that the valve stem attaches to unscrews to open the fill point. It's a 1-inch nut, I believe.

Greg

Take this with a grain of salt...I'm not very bright.

I believe it depends on whether your reserve tank is below the helm pump or above. In my last boat I had a pressurized system (for shaft oil, not steering, but same principle) that was above the item it serviced. In that case, I would unscrew the large nut that the valve-stem was screwed into and fill there. In my system, the reserve tank was the highest point in the system and gravity did most of the work. So very little pressure was required - around 2 pounds pressure required.

I've seen a similar system on a friends boat where the reserve tank was BELOW the helm pump. In that case, to fill it he would release the pressure and fill the tank from the helm pump and gravity would in turn fill the reserve tank until the system was full. Then he pressurized the reserve tank to force hydraulic fluid up to the helm when it was needed. Since pressure did the work it was much higher pressure level (closer to the 25 you mention, but I honestly don't remember).

Hope that helps.