Solar Panel Integrity when not in use

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mainship Pilot

Vessel Name
Eagle
Vessel Make
Mainship Pilot II, Prior vessel 43’ Bluesea
2 175 Flex Renogy panels with a 40 amp Controller, question……would it make sense to make a cover, let’s say with a moving blanket, to cover my panels while at the slip? Would this prolong the life and integrity of the panels, or is it just a futile attempt at winter projects? ? IMG_2947.jpg

I have been using my boat with 6 panels for 13 years and have yet to find any reason to bother covering them.

I would cover them. My boat came with 10 100w Renogy panels that all failed in around 6 years. They were in the tropics and got a lot of sun. All the plastic on the surface got cloudy and they started delaminating. I expect they would last a lot longer in Seattle than they do in the tropics.

Flexible panels probably will benefit, as they have plastic and not glass over the solar cells, and plastic loses transparency as noted above.

For hard panels, I have often wondered whether sitting at the dock on shorepower and thus having nowhere for the solar output to go degrades them. I guess they may heat up a bit more. In 12 years I have not noticed any loss of performance.

I guess what could it hurt at this point, they are brand new, I installed them a week ago, so I guess I will add one more step in the clean up process when we get back to the dock. Thanks!

By coincidence I asked my brother in law this question just a few weeks ago. He has worked his whole life on solar panels, designs them and improves them.
Asked him exactly the same question: 'during the winter our solar panels are not delivering any charge to the batteries since we are connected to shore power. Can this harm the panels ?