Engine smoke

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hfmckevitt

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Linda Lee
Vessel Make
45' Aquarius motoryacht
We have a 1990 Aquarius 45’ motor yacht with twin 3208 cat engines. Our starboard engine smoke a lot (gray) to the point where is is very noticeable.
The engines a 375 hp with 2110 hrs.
Te port engine also smoke but nowhere as bad as the starboard.
One thing I noticed is the port engine exhaust is lower in the water then the starboard.
I was thinking of adding an extension to the exhaust pipe?
I’m looking for ideas before I give up sell the thing.

Thanks
Henry
Linda Lee

Last edited:
I'd start by having the injectors serviced on that side.

Had them replaced last spring

I am not a great mechanic but Ski really knows what he is talking about. Maybe PM him.

What temp is the engine running at? It could be steam.

What does the smoke smell like? Does it leave a sheen on the water?

pete

Did this just start or been doing it a long time? Intake air filter clean? Turbocharger clean?

Temps are around 180

Do it has been happening since I purchased the boat 4 years ago

How do I contact Ski?

The engine may not be getting enough air. Remove the air filter and see if the compressor wheel turns smoothly. Have the turbocharger checked for corrosion on the exhaust side. If the gap between turbine and housing is too large it won't produce enough boost for the fuel injected - thus the smoke.

There is a difference between fuel caused smoke and low raw water flow smoke
[STEAM}
Fuel caused smoke will be acrid and strong smelling. Will often appear immediately after startup lingering while running. When running the smoke will often leave a trail that leaves a long trail behind the boat, not dissipating readily.