porthole in aft wall

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

charlesamilton

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Wahuntchoo
Vessel Make
Grand Banks / Classic
36 classic, just wondering if I can cut a porthole in the aft "wall "above the bed left of the companion way? Not sure whats in the "wall", I am a carpenter and would have no problem cutting and installing a porthole in my boat but at the same time a 12" hole is a bit scary, any thought GB family?

It's properly a "portlight," regardless of shape. If I were to have done that on my similarly built GB42, I would have cut a rectangular shape for a portlight which is more in keeping with the overall look of the boat. I gave the idea consideration over the years, and it would have been extremely easy because the bulkhead there was simply one layer of plywood. However, other priorities got in the way, and I never did the job.

I am not sure what that wall is, sounds like one layer of plywood with fiberglass covering? What is the difference between a porthole and a portlight? I definitely want to be able to open the new portlight.

Can you make it big enough to act as an escape hatch as well?

probably not, just hoping for a bed view and a little more sea breeze

What is the purpose of this opening, viewing, ventilation, light or all three? I would imagine you want this item to open inwardly rather than the reverse which would throw an obstruction out over the aft deck. There are numerous styles and sizes available from manufacturers like Bomar.

all three , Bomar is a quality product that will blend?