Marine Trader Ford Lehman starter removal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JimJay

Hello all. I have a 1985 43’ Marine Trader Labelle Cruiser trawler. It has twin 225 HP Ford Lehman diesels. Starters are mounted on the left side of each engine. My port engine starter is out which means of course the starter is very close to the port fuel tank leaving almost no work space. Almost impossible to get to from the front, rear or anywhere else. Anybody ever had to pull one of these or know what the trick is? I’m a pretty good mechanic with many years of experience but this one has me stumped along with everybody else that’s tried to access it. We’ve gotten two bolts off but can’t really get to the one between the starter and the engine itself and nearly impossible to even hold it upon removal. Any help would be appreciated, thanks Jim

Pain that it will be, I think you are going to have to jack the engine up a few inches in at least the rear to get at it. While you have it in the air, you might consider doing the other starter even if it is not giving you problems. Its probably got the same number of "starts" on it.

pete

Yeah I’ve wondered if this is an ‘engine removal’ kind of thing. The other starter which is on the left side of the starboard engine is on the right in the middle of the engine bay and easy to get to. Thanks for your input Pete.

I have the same engines in my boat. Just got done putting the port engine back last Wednesday. My fuel tanks are outboard of the engines too but maybe not as close as yours. I couldn’t get the cables off the starter solenoid but the mechanic being smaller did it easily. I have not really looked at how the starter attaches.