Hello! - Newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Let's try this forum... :ermm:

So, I am new to the cruising lifestyle. Been looking at it for awhile, tracking a plan, researching vessel types, ect. But I am still learning!

The plan:

Will be traveling/living aboard.
Two birbs and a wife.

Start with the great loop and work my way, experience willing, down in to the Caribbean, with maybe a home port in Florida. (Daughter will likely be living there soon for her job. She may visit, but will not be living with us.)
No Experience here in the Valley of the sun, and very little option to gain that experience here.

Keep cost as low as possible, keep out of the way of storms as much as possible, and generally live a free life, again, experience permitting.

I was told I needed to come over here by other members of a rival forum, so here I am. Teach me!

The boat: I believe, that right now, a trawler is our best option.

Reasons:

Wife will not travel if we have to heel in order to get anywhere (sailing).
Because we need SOME room, for us and the birbs, to be comfortable, looking at possibly the 40 foot range. Though smaller MAY be doable.
We won't be constantly moving locations. Its time to slow down, not hurry up and go places. Plus, again, need to absorb any costs that may come with that.

Sooo, yeah, I think thats it. Glad to be here! Hope to learn all I can!

Welcome aboard. We lived in Tucson for 30 years before moving back to Michigan when we retired.

Welcome aboard. We lived in Tucson for 30 years before moving back to Michigan when we retired.

Nice! Fellow Arizonian! My mom's side is from Michigan, still have family up there. Doin the great loop would be awesome, and give me a chance to see them again.

Budget is critical to give sage advice.