Old 05-18-2021, 02:18 AM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Berkeley, CA
Vessel Name: Sea Rover
Vessel Model: CT 40 / Hartley Motor Sailor
residential stove on trawler

I'm considering installng a home propane range on my trawler. I would like opinions and thoughts from others that have used residential stoves on their boats.

kazenza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 05:26 AM   #2
Guru

City: Malmö
Vessel Name: ABsolutely FABulous
Vessel Model: Greenline 33 Hybrid (2010)
I have no propane experience. But, if I were in your shoes, the first check I would make would be with my insurance company. Are there certain standards/certifications that need to be met by a stove used in a marine environment in order for you to know that the insurance company will actually pay out the event of a fire or explosion?

Currently in: Gruissan, FRANCE
ScottC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 06:16 AM   #3
FF
Guru

Folks have installed them but care and work is required.

Fiddles to keep pots from sliding off , or at least mounts for springs to keep pots in place , as even anchored in a quiet cone , idiots run boats.

The range is always best against a bulkhead ,not the hull, as an errant pot going left or right is less hassle than one coming tight at you.

Many marine ranges have different style operating valves , the valve turns on to full high and rotating lowers the flame to an adjustable minimum . The minimum flame is one that wont blow out with a port or hatch open.

The propane solenoid should be hooked to both a mechanical timer , an off on switch ,and a light of some sort to remind you the range is o

A 2 hour timer is no big deal , even with a big dinner.

The oven should have a pilot light hooked with the thermostat for operation.

Can it be done , sure , but its a bit of a hassle.
FF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 06:33 AM   #4
Guru

City: Saint Petersburg
Vessel Name: Weebles
Vessel Model: 1970 Willard 36 Trawler