A newbie taking a new boat 1500 miles?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Vessel Name
Terrapin
Vessel Make
86 Monk36
Hi all . This my first post, I have been observing for a few months while shopping. I went and saw several boats on a trip south from NH. I like one particular boat in Southern Florida.
I am not new to boating at all, but new to anything larger than 22' on a good size lake.
Would it be considered an unwise move to take a new to me 40' boat up the ICW up to New England?
I would be waiting until the spring, I have plenty of time. and would have everything gone over very well before the trip. I was a mechanic by trade, but with so many different systems it is a bit overwhelming.
Any thoughts?

I think that would be the best thing you could do with your mechanical background and experience. As long as you have plenty of time to take it slow.

When I sold my 32' tug a number of years ago we were at a yard in North Carolina with the buyer talking with some of the yard folks. The buyer said, "Great. Now where can I find a transport to take the boat to Boston for me?" He, too, had only had 18ft runabouts on the lake.

One of the yard guys got a weird look on his face, and in the thickest southern North Carolina drawl you could imagine said, "Boats .... wernt ... made ... to go on trucks.....".

We talked some more and all convinced him that he should take 3-4 weeks off of work and take the boat up himself. I told him that by the time he gets to Boston, he will already know every inch of the boat and its systems.

He finally did make the trip and called me a few days after arriving and said that that was the BEST decision he had ever made......

If you have the time (and, if you don't you shouldn't do it) it should be a really fun trip, and you will learn a lot about your boat and boating in general.