Netherlands Boat Ownership?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Humper

Owning a Boat in the Netherlands?
I am looking at purchasing a trawler in the Netherlands and keeping it there. Hoping folks can help me answer some basic questions:
- Surveyor's and general costs?
- Permanent moorage?
- Winter Storage/ moorage?
- Monthly moorage costs?
- Licensing and permitting?
- General availability of Local Captains for hire - one month stints?
- Hidden pitfalls?
My goal is to spend one month/year on the boat. My background is a Fleming 55 owner, and I have a Master Captains license (50grt) - but strictly amateur.
No foreign language skills. Any advice welcome. Thanks!

Welcome aboard. I absolutely love the Fleming 55.

This is my first time post. I am the lucky owner of the first Fleming 55 (Hull#19) made - two years + on a major refit (85% complete?). Hopefully I will be able to post refit pics in the next year or so. Thanks.

Seems like a lot of potential expense for only one month per year of use! Have you considered chartering/rental?
On the plus side, I can tell you that language will not be an issue. Most Dutch are very good with English.

You might consider contacting Tom Sommers, who spent years cruising the European canals in order to write his guidebooks. Lots of Holland-related info. He's from upstate New York, if my memory serves correctly.

https://www.eurocanals.com/

- My sons and other friends will also be using the vessel. Good news on the language issue.
- Fun link on the Canals.

Thanks.

I am looking at purchasing a trawler in the Netherlands and keeping it there. Hoping folks can help me answer some basic questions:
- Permanent moorage?
- Monthly moorage costs?
- Hidden pitfalls?
My goal is to spend one month/year on the boat. My background is a Fleming 55 owner, and I have a Master Captains license (50grt) - but strictly amateur.