Need some help researching fuel consumption

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nmcafee

Wife and I are putting together a 3 year plan that will have us puttering around the Gulf and Bahamas in a ~55 foot cruiser. Am trying to consider fuel consumption as part of our criteria to narrow down potential boats. One that keeps hits a lot of the things on my list is a Sea Ray 550 Sedan bridge.

Is there a good way to research fuel consumption? Most of our cruising will be in the 10-12 knot range.

Most that I see in our price range (150-200K all in) have dual 705 hp detroit diesels.

Any advice on how to research fuel burn?

Thanks in advance, have just joined the site and trying to soak up as much info as possible.

As a newbie, I just called up the selling broker and asked for inventory lists(for tankage volumes) and range/consumption figures. Obviously, take any seller supplied figures with scepticism but you should notice a pattern of typical figures appear.

Note that this can vary wildly based on cruising speed. I also corrected to a given speed (back to 6 knots full displacement for me) using an online calculator. Again this is indicative only but allows for an approximate apples to apples comparison between different vessels.

I'm not sure what numbers you are expecting but big 2 stroke detroits are HUGELY thirsty at speed.

This is the calculator that I used:

https://www.vicprop.com/calculator.htm

Good luck

20-years ago, I spent about 5 years as a full time delivery captain along the pacific coast. Dearth of fuel stops and long runs means fuel range was a normal question. Owners were rarely even close to accurate - if I'd listened to them, I'd still be bobbing somewhere off Cape San Martin.