Live bait bag plumbing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sford1952

We are planning to install a live bait bag on our 1983 CHB 35 I have been told the boat wash down thru hull will suck air while underway so don't tap that for a continuous water source, so I hope someone can suggest a good alternative

Thanks, Steve

I'd test it first by seeing if you can wash down the deck while running. A scoop type thru hull would be best. You could tap off your engine thru hull.

I'm following with interest, hoping to due something similar. Now for fishing trips we use a 5 gallon bucket with a fish tank air pump during the day to keep the live spot Chesapeake Bay stripers love. It's a chore change the water to keep the fish overnight.

I don’t know what a bait bag is but I have a lot of experience with bait wells, bait tanks and tuna tubes. All work best with a LOT of water flow. In South Florida we often use two or three Rule 2000 bilge pumps in a flooded box. There are no shortage of bait well pumps. If this bait bag is of any size I suggest you install a dedicated pump that is continuous duty. I suspect you’d burn up your wash down pump pretty quick.
https://www.hopkins-carter.com/pumps---plumbing-bait-well-pumps.html

Attachments

• BF7E8D5E-4F8A-44E2-BB15-31CA09388B9E.jpeg
    BF7E8D5E-4F8A-44E2-BB15-31CA09388B9E.jpeg
    46.5 KB · Views: 17
  • A39AEBEA-0F97-4EFA-AD02-87FD482EAF6F.jpeg
    A39AEBEA-0F97-4EFA-AD02-87FD482EAF6F.jpeg
    26.8 KB · Views: 110
I think that it would depend on where the pickup for the wash down is located. If it is towards the stern then it would probably work ok. In the bow, probably not.

If your wash down will pickup while running, I agree about using a continuous use rated pump that taps into that seacock.

If your wash down will pickup while running, I agree about using a continuous use rated pump that taps into that seacock.