Boat Yards

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Diesel

Vessel Make
1987 GB Classic
Hi all, question for you about boat yards, in Anacortes and Bellingham, my history with yards has been pretty hit and miss. Planning some upgrades, installation of a davit for a larger dinghy and similar physical mods.
Just wondering if anyone has any recommendations specifically for GB work that they are REALLY happy with. Oh and is an environmental fee of 2.5% applied to all work (including labor) standard?
I have an 87 GB Classic.

Welcome aboard. Sorry I have no knowledge but wanted to welcome you to the forum.

Check La Conner Maritime. They have always answered my questions over the phone and also provided estimates.

Cap Sante Marine - Great Experience

Not GB specific, but customer service and attention to detail...

I have a dear friend with a Tartan that has been using Cap Sante Marine for years, and he really likes them. So, last fall I booked a quick “in and out” job with Cap Sante Marine - they wanted to block the boat, but we agreed on an early morning hoist and hoped for an early afternoon launch.

I was there early, and the hoist crew were prepping. I noticed single slings on the travelift. They went to the extra trouble of rigging TWO slings, fore and aft, for my boat. The previous 3 times the boat was hauled at other yards, the crew did not take the time to do this.

Once we got out of the water, but were still over the slip, the foreman asked what paint was on the boat and when it was applied. He opined that the bottom looked very good, and that we should not powerwash it (ablative paint).