White exhaust smoke

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NIKBRUSH

I have a 2007 Mainship Pilot 34 with a Yanmar 6lya-stp 370 HP engine, about 1430 hours. In neutral at 2000 rpm, after the engine is warmed up to 175 degrees F, it puts out a lot of white smoke, it not noticeable underway. In addition, at low rpm, there is a fuel exhaust sheen in the water at neutral. The fuel filters have about 30 hours and the vacuum gauge is ok. I guess, I have a fuel delivery system problem. From what I read, the fuel injectors should not need attention, but the valves probably should have been adjusted at 1000 hours. Would you start with the valves? Thanks.
Nick

Last edited:
I am not an engine mechanic but if the 1,000 maintenance was not done I would start there and see if that helps. Besides they want the valves adjusted and the other work done for a reason.

Are you sure it's smoke and not steam? How is the exhaust water flow when it was generating the white stuff?

Ted

Very strong water flow, all coolers HX, transmission, intercooler removed and cleaned, oil cooler replaced 6/22.

Hold a piece of stiff white paper or your hand at exhaust outlet if possible (or over the exhaust gas bubbles) If it feels slippery and has a fuel odor, then it is not steam but engine related and warrants investigation. Check oil levels and anti-freeze levels frequently.

A 'lot' of smoke would concern me. I get a slight sheen at startup and small amount of white smoke until warm up.

Engines are expensive, I would complete the 1000 hr maintenance cycle very soon starting with the valves. If that doesn't cure the problem a compression check would be in order. If I pulled the injectors I would probably send them out for testing.

Yanmar owner here. I would be doing both valve lash and injector inspection.