Battery question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Eli27

So I did a complete test on my standard 8d batteries. They are junk. 79 albin 36 single leYman no bow thruster.

I'm going to be doing a full time liveabaoard and wanted opinions on batteries.

Things to know about me
#1- I don't consume much power (phone charge and a couple hrs on laptop

#2- there is a generator aboard (and If that's broke too,,, I have a portable Honda backup)

#3- I'm only gonna be around this boating thing for a couple yrs MAX. Health issue will unfortunately take me away from the ocean

So, what would be your next step? Replace with same or go with a smaller battery. Don't remember the group number but I think they were 27series. Anything wrong with putting a smaller size battery?

Also, these batteries are standard, if I went with AGM, are there alternator issues? Being a mechanic I know cars specify standard or AGM batteries due to alternator charging characteristics. Are there issues with the leYman alternators?

Thanks

Given the conditions outlined I would just replace with an 8D wet cell. No changes required, it should last 3-5 years with normal care. They are reasonably priced and readily available. Dropping down in size might work and be easier to lift but probable tradeoff on capacity and cold cranking amps.

Given the conditions outlined I would just replace with an 8D wet cell. No changes required, it should last 3-5 years with normal care. They are reasonably priced and readily available. Dropping down in size might work and be easier to lift but probable tradeoff on capacity and cold cranking amps.

I agree - normally I'd suggest swapping with 6v golf cart batteries from Costco ($110/ea plus core deposit - caution, these have a checkered rating), but cost of cabling would offset any savings and add to the PITA factor.