Old 01-31-2019, 09:00 AM   #1

City: Norfolk, VA
Vessel Name: Slow Bells
Vessel Model: Marine Trader 38
bending/cutting copper tube

My forced air diesel heater came with 3/16" OD copper tube for the fuel line. I've never worked with this stuff before. It shipped in a 12" diameter roll. Can I put a smaller radius bend in the tube without having to buy some kind of exotic pipe bender gizmo? I watched a YouTube video about working with copper tube, and they used a tube cutter that scored the tube around and around until it broke off. Is that way better than a hacksaw? And, it looks like I also need to buy something to de-burr the newly cut end, right?

seattleboatguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 09:20 AM   #2
Guru

City: Cape May, NJ and Englewood, FL
Vessel Name: Irish Lady
A brake tube bender is <$15 at orielly auto parts Handles 1/8, 3/16, and 1/4 tube.
Tubing cutter is the tool to use. All but the cheapest have a deburr attachment.

1984 Monk 36 Hull #46
Enroute to Cape May, NJ
Currently Charleston, SC
High Wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 09:50 AM   #3
Veteran Member

City: Raymond NH
Vessel Name: Mischief Managed II
Vessel Model: 1992 Tollycraft 44 CPMY
Don't use anything but a tubing cutter; they are inexpensive and easy to use. Debur tool should be built in. There are a few ways to bend the tubing correctly. I have a couple of different tools for that and both were inexpensive. Google "brake line bender" and "tubing bender springs" for ideas. The goal is to not kink the stuff.
Mischief Managed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 09:54 AM   #4
Guru

City: Litchfield, Ct/Punta Gorda, Fl
Vessel Model: Atlas Pompano 23- outboard
To expand a bit on High Wire's post above, a set of tubing benders that will do a medium radius bend can be bought for about $11. See https://www.amazon.com/Superior-Tool...er+tube+bender