Closed Thread

Old 06-11-2021, 06:42 PM   #681
Guru

City: Fort Lauderdale. Florida, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLD View Post
It sounds like a pretty successful cruise given the factors involved.

My wife and I would never, even in the best of times, cruise on another ship with 4 - 6,000 people. With retirement pending in the next year or so, we are still looking at another two years until a possible cruise. And it would be on a smaller ship of less than 1,000 passengers.

I'm curious to see what happens in Florida with cruises in the upcoming year. Seems to me the Governor's plan to prohibit cruise lines from having passengers prove they are vaccinated is a huge potential problem for the industry. Having unvaccinated passengers on a cruise ship seems like a concern for cruise line employees as well as something that would undermine confidence of vaccinated passengers.

Jim
Several have indicated plans to ignore the Governor and follow CDC. As a Florida business owner, I've consulted, and my lawyers tell me the Governor's order can not be enforced. As employers we have the right and responsibility to do what we feel is necessary to protect our customers and employees. All our employees are vaccinated and masks are still required in our stores as is distancing.

Gets more interesting with the fact the cruise ships are foreign entities.
Old 06-11-2021, 06:43 PM   #682
Guru

City: West Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by BandB View Post
95% vaccinated means 70 are not. 10% ineffective rate on 1330 means another 133 are not protected so a total on board of 200 not protected by vaccination.
Thanks.
Old 06-12-2021, 08:33 AM   #683
Guru

City: Oconto, WI
Vessel Name: Best Alternative
Vessel Model: 36 Albin Aft Cabin
I started this thread 16 months ago. I have added to it a couple times and think it might be time to add once again.