Old 05-08-2012, 12:29 PM   #1

City: Lake Erie
Wooden Boats

Hi Trawler fans!

I discovered this forum and joined about a month ago.

I'm a custom builder on Lake Erie (Ohio) and and I'm curious whether there's any interest in new wooden trawlers any more? Nothing feels and sounds quite like a wooden boat under way (or at anchor) and I imagine trawler folks tend to understand that more than your average boat owner. And the aesthetics of wooden boat construction have an appeal that can't be matched in fiberglass or aluminum.

New, traditionally-built wooden boats remain viable but the best wood-epoxy building techniques can reduce maintenance and result in a virtually unlimited lifespan. Does wood construction appeal to anyone any more?

John Riddle
John Riddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:49 PM   #2
Guru

City: Whittier AK
Vessel Name: Apache II
Vessel Model: 1974 Donald Jones
My last boat was a wooden boat but it was covered in many layers of fiberglass and Kevlar.

If it is done right and with enough glass and resin. It would seem to me it could be just about the same as an all glass boat.

Done right is the key. Leave a little opening anywhere and the water gets in.

It just about has to be encapsulated in Fiberglass.

SD
Old 05-08-2012, 12:49 PM   #3
Scraping Paint

City: -
It has appeal but it's way expensive if you're talking about plank-on-frame construction and it's done properly.

And while I believe a well cared for wood boat is no more effort to maintain than a well cared for plastic boat, the difference becomes glaring when the boats are not so well cared for. A plastic boat gets really dirty with neglect and some of the systems may start to fail or deteriorate with disuse. But that's about it.

A neglected wood boat can start to allow moisture to get into places it shouldn't be and then you have the potential for problems that can be a major effort and expense to fix.