Old 05-11-2020, 04:11 PM   #1
Guru

City: Coupeville Wa.
Vessel Name: Pacific Myst
Vessel Model: West Bay 4500
Dripless shaft seal flow meter. Good or bad idea?

The boat came with full flow meters and needle valves on the water feed for the dripless shaft seals. Great in theory but I'm thinking over engineered. One of the flow meters failed last time out. The failure was the indicator stuck "down" so no water flow to the shaft seal. This could have caused the shaft seal to burn up. So I'm thinking of removing the flow meters and needle valves.

I'm asking for opinions on using flow meters on the shaft seal water feed. How many have flow indication of any kind on your dripless seals? Seems like overkill to me. I'm new to dripless always having had old fashioned stuffing boxes in the past.
Portage_Bay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 04:15 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Black Dog
Vessel Model: Formula 41PC
I think that is way over engineered. It is another point of failure. I have an alarm on the exhaust hose right after the mixer. If I loose water flow it will go off. If I have water flow through the engine then I should have flow into the dripless seal. Too much over thinking IMO.
Comodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 04:31 PM   #3
Guru

City: NARBONNE
Vessel Name: 'Snow Mouse.'
Vessel Model: BROOM FLYBRIDGE 42.
K.I.S.S I don't mean to be offensive but why oh why do some guys overcomplicate things.
Irish Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 04:44 PM   #4
Guru

City: Coupeville Wa.
Vessel Name: Pacific Myst
Vessel Model: West Bay 4500
Thanks for your opinions. I'm in agreement, they will be removed. I'll look into a temp alarm on the exhaust hose.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comodave View Post