Spare Prop

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Propnut

Vessel Name
Voyager
Vessel Make
41' PT Europa
I thought a spare prop would be nice to have on my single screw trawler, and thought a used one would be easy to find. Boy was I wrong.
A 26 x 20 LH 1.75” bore three blade propeller is nonexistent.
So if I were to damage my prop I’m done until I can acquire a new one .
So I’m thinking about biting the bullet and go ahead and order a new prop.
Question is, which prop manufacturer would you order from?? What material?? Any suggestions from the experts here?

I thought a spare prop would be nice to have on my single screw trawler, and thought a used one would be easy to find. Boy was I wrong.
Question is, which prop manufacturer would you order from?? What material?? Any suggestions from the experts here?

I am not an expert!!!!!
I suggest Bronze although some folk will swear by stainless steel.
Are you going to stow it on the boat? Secure so it is so it is not a problem in bad weather
Check with the nearest prop shop. They might have one laying in the shop or give you a lead. If not, internet search.

It's not necessary to buy a new prop. A good rehab prop that passes NDT tests. Dont forget to buy a new shaft nut and key.
Are you going to buy wheel puller?

Last edited:

If you're sure that the one you have is perfect, order the same one from the same manufacturer. A good prop shop can tell you exactly what you have, whether it's been re-pitched, and if it's current state matches the markings.

There is a black art involving witchcraft and sacrifices to get the perfect propeller for your application. Switching from perfect usually guarantees disappointment.

Ted

You can't go too far wrong with Michigan Wheel, bronze, 3 blade. It's not a high performance application.
If it will only be a spare, 25 inch diameter will probably be close enough.

Last edited: