Old 07-01-2020, 02:02 PM   #1

City: Rocky Point
Vessel Name: Livin The Dream
Vessel Model: Sea Ray
Racor Model 900 Filter Change

I would like to change the filters on my racor model 900. This is my first time doing this. Instead of the T handle I have pressure gauge. Do I remove pressure gauge to get to filter?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6FEBD68B-A898-4199-89F5-8DBB16582CFE.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	96.1 KB
ID:	104483  

larman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 02:19 PM   #2
Guru

City: Gig Harbor
Vessel Name: Sandpiper
Vessel Model: Bluewater 40 Pilothouse Trawler
Quote:
Originally Posted by larman View Post
I would like to change the filters on my racor model 900. This is my first time doing this. Instead of the T handle I have pressure gauge. Do I remove pressure gauge to get to filter?
Yes, the gauge takes the place of the T handle.

Use a wrench on the hex portion of the gauge. do not turn using the gauge head.

Make sure to shut off the fuel going to the Racor. You might have to drain a little fuel out of the filter so that the fuel doesn't spill out when the lid is removed. After the new element is in, top up the fuel in the Racor and open the valve previously shut.

A lot depends on the orientation of the Racor to the level of fuel in the tank. On some installations, just turning the fuel valve open after element change will fill the Racor.

syjos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 02:34 PM   #3

City: Rocky Point
Vessel Name: Livin The Dream
Vessel Model: Sea Ray
Thank you
larman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 04:31 PM   #4
Guru

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Never Say Never
Vessel Model: President 41 DC
Racor sells a gauge now with the T handle built in so you donít need a wrench to get the gauge off. Mine will gravity fill after I open the shutoff. Good luck.
Comodave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 04:55 PM   #5
Guru

City: North Carolina for now