Old 08-07-2020, 11:52 PM   #1

City: Wrangell AK
Vessel Name: Arctic Jade
Vessel Model: Ocean Alexander 42
Questions about Detroit 8.2L engines

I am new to the trawler forum. A year ago we sold our sailboat and have/are making the switch to what some have called “The Dark Side” . (We are thinking simply enlighten ) While I have a bunch of experience with a variety of sailboats I’m just learning about trawlers. My wife and I are actively shopping for a trawler in the 40 - 45’ range. Some of the boats we are interested in have Detroit 8.2L diesels. My research indicates they tend to have significant problems. On the other hand, some on this forum report having them for years, requiring little more than routine maintenance and TLC. Are there any key indicators a good engine survey would discover that could give me a thumbs up or down on the Detroit 8.2L engines in a boat we’re interested in? My wife and I are used to sailboat speeds and not interested in going fast. Seeing a consistent 8 - 10 knots would be wonderful. Obviously boat weight and configuration are determining factors on how much power it takes to make that speed. Again, the Detroit 8.2L is the issue. Thanks in advance for any and all thoughts and reported experience.
Alaska JD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 02:17 AM   #2
Guru

City: St Augustine,Fl
whether you think they are a good engine or not, parts availability is problematic.

I had 2 , never again
Old 08-08-2020, 06:54 AM   #3
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
I helped a friend move a boat with an 8.2 and lived with it for a week. Before the trip I researched this forum, boatdiesel, etc. I discovered that head bolts were a weak point and if you planned to run the least bit hard then upgrade them. The other weakness was the cooling system and there was a straightforward fix that consisted of a vent from the rear cylinder.