Perkins Turbo

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

slowandsteady

Vessel Make
Mainship 34 III
I'm running a Perkins T6.354.4M in my Mainship. I was getting puffs of exhaust coming out the joint where the turbo bolts to the exhaust manifold that was getting soot all over the place so I decided to take it off and change the gasket. When i took it off I noticed that the intake side of the turbo was full of sludgy black oil. I always thought that the intake side should be relatively clean. The turbo was rebuilt in 2012 by the PO to the tune of $1,795.00 by Foley Engines. Could it be that the seals are gone in the turbo allowing oil into the intake side of the turbo? Is this why I have been getting blue smoke and a little oily sheen out the exhaust? I'm not a mechanic but I am no stranger to diesel engines. I suppose I'll call Foley on Monday and see if there is any warranty on a rebuild.

That tab from foley is over $1000.00 more than a buddy paid for getting his rebuilt, I've read some very bad reviews on their customer service.

The guy at Foley's called me a "yachty *******". I would never give them one dime of my money for any part or component they had even if they were the only ones that had it. YMMV. But, just do a google search, see what comes up.

I also had a very bad experience with Foley long (12 ish years) ago. Quoted around $250.00 for a wiring harness, charged my credit card over $1,200.00. Was also called a *^$*&%.

Thank goodness for support from my credit card company. Made the harness myself.

Rob

Last edited:
Pull the exhaust off and see if you are getting oil on that side too.