Nauta Flexible Diesel Tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Adelaide

Vessel Name
Adelaide
Vessel Make
1983 Tung Hwa Clipper
First off, I am new to Taiwan Trawlers.* My wife and I purchased a Tung Hwa 30' Clipper Trawler a few weeks ago and are in love with it.* We got an excellent deal on it, but the tanks are original.* Although I don't plan on doing anything right away, I always like to have a plan in place.

Has anyone had experience with these tanks (linked below)?* It seems that you could create an access hole in the existing (empty) steel tanks and slide this blatter in.* Could this be a less costly alternative to removing the tanks?* Mine are glassed in, and other than a very slight amount of sweating at one of the drain plugs, look good from the outside.* What do you think?

http://www.atlinc.com/marine.html

http://www.go2marine.com/product.do?no=99578F&WT.mc_id=gb1

-- Edited by Adelaide on Friday 16th of September 2011 08:12:44 PM

I recently rejected a boat due to the surveyors findings. One of them was severely corroded fuel tanks. To replace the fuel tanks alone would run around 13-15K in the Houston, Tx. area if performed by a yard. For one thing, the engine would have to be completely removed and reinstalled in order to replace the fuel tanks.
Another option was to cut the fuel tank in place and remove it in small sections and replace with smaller tanks lined up in the old location. The other option was to cut the tanks 1/2 way down from the top and try to figure out a way to set flex tanks inside them.
This would work but it will devalue the boat when you try to sell it in the future.