Fuel Injectors

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wannabe

Vessel Name
Hakuna Matata
Vessel Make
DeFever Pilothouse 49
Greetings,

I am a long time lurker considering purchase of a new to me boat.* I am a newbie with deisel engines.* The engine survey came back with an elevated fuel level in the oil analysis.* I understand that this probably means the injectors need some cleaning/adjustment.* I need to know how involved and expensive this repair is.* Can you shed some light on it for me?

Thanks for sharing your experience and knowlege.
Wannabe

Lehman 120.

American Diesel sells them for about $90 each. You have to remove *the valve cover and remove the rocker arms to replace the injectors.

Actually you don't remove the valve cover. The injectors are mounted in the side of the head. Replacement is pretty easy as even I have done one. You have to be very careful not to crimp or bend any of the fuel tubing going to the injectors when making the exchange. Fuel in the oil might be coming from the injector pump I believe this is about a $800 rebuild.

An elevated fuel level in the oil can also mean a leaking fuel return line.

The most common cause would be poor compression from lack of use though there are loads of other causes.

Looking at the oil sample log will show how long the problem existed .

My guess is the seller came to the boat , ran the engine at dockside (to "exercise" it) and caused the poor sample readings.

If this was just for the months the boat was for sale , no biggie , change the oil.

IF this was his "technique" to not have to pickle the engine during his off season , plan soon on a rebuild IF the engine smokes with a load , after warmup.

Daddyo wrote: