Fresh Water Flush

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

magna 6882

Guru
Vessel Name
Intrepid
Vessel Make
North Pacific/ NP-45 Hull 10
Thinking about how i flushed outboards after each trip and was wondering if that would be practical or a wast of time. I have fresh water and the slip and was thinking i could pipe into the inlet water hose and add a thru hull on the pier side of the boat and simply flush after a trip. am i nuts? Your thoughts please.

Thinking about how i flushed outboards after each trip and was wondering if that would be practical or a wast of time. I have fresh water and the slip and was thinking i could pipe into the inlet water hose and add a thru hull on the pier side of the boat and simply flush after a trip. am i nuts? Your thoughts please.

I have been doing this for a couple years so I don’t think you are nuts. I did it the easy way and simply got a hose adapter for my raw water strainer. I attach the dock water to the raw water strainer and run the engine for 10 minutes at idle with the hose running and seacock closed.

Yes, it is a bit of a hassle, but I think it is worth it. If you have specific questions, let me know.

We have a lightweight Mercury 3.3, no trouble taking it home after trips to flush run it in fresh water in a large container. Heavier outboards are more problematic, tough to lift,let alone transport to/from home.

We have a lightweight Mercury 3.3, no trouble taking it home after trips to flush run it in fresh water in a large container. Heavier outboards are more problematic, tough to lift,let alone transport to/from home.

Or back to another topic, get an electric outboard. Lighter than gas, no flushing required! I put mine in a carrying case after using it and can toss it on a bunk or wherever is convenient.

I thought he was talking about doing a fresh water flush of the engine in his trawler, not the dinghy.