Old 12-01-2022, 05:24 PM   #1

City: Woodbridge
Vessel Name: DORA
Vessel Model: 2002 Mainship 430
Post DIY rebuilding of diesel engine Yanmar 6LY

By popular request (whooping 2! people expressed some interest) I will document the rebuild process of my Yanmar 6LYA-STP engine for my own records and in case it will help someone in a similar situation.

After many hours of deep research (thanks, YouTube) i learned some tips and tricks to make this rebuild successful and enjoyable.

Disclaimer: I'm not a professional mechanic, and this is my first rebuild, so use this information at your own risk.
A professional mechanic will suggest you send the engine for rebuild to a good machine shop. It will take months and cost you more than a good used engine, but mechanics have to eat too.

Quotes I was getting for a rebuild started from $25k which is around the cost of a used engine like that. And there are not that many used 6LYA engines available (pretty much 0 at this time). And, a "lightly-used" engine is a very loose definition and you can end up with having to do 2 rebuilds.

Why this rebuild was started:

The engine was seized when i got this boat (2002 Mainship 430). It could not be rotated or slightly moved by a 3' breaker bar on the crankshaft nut. Applying more force would probably break something.

To get this over with, someone will probably ask, "why on earth did I buy a boat with a seized engine?"
- i was bored. as simple as that

From what I found so far, the water got into the cylinders from the poorly designed exhaust via turbo and air inlets (see photos). The engine was left with the water inside for a long time, so the pistons and valves rusted to the block.

Removing the injectors (and later removing the head) and soaking the cylinders with Mystery oil for 3 months did not free them up.