Detroit 8v71TI

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

amelis

Hi all, I'm new to this and switching from a sailboat.
We want a comfortable liveaboard that has good range, at least 700nm.

We have seen a great 1983 Hatteras 53 extended deckhouse but I am concerned that the consumption will make long distance cruising unaffordable. Tanks are 700 gallons and engines are 450hp each so range at the moment is probably no more than 400 or 450nm.

I have read that putting smaller injectors can reduce hp and cruising rpm and consumption quite considerably.
Does anyone have any experience of this? Is it a good or bad idea?

Are there any other ways of reducing the consumption of these big engines?

Thank you!

Injector change will make little if any difference. At any given speed, the boat will require the same hp regardless of injectors.

At speeds down around 8kts, should be better than 1nmpg.

I think there are others on site that have similar old Hatts with same engines, they can give better burn data.

Compression ratio is lower in the TIs than on a NAs. Low cylinder temps are a problem on TI engines that are not loaded enough (ran slow). Serious cylinder glazing can occur if operated to long at low power. You can remove the turbos and intercoolers and go to a 7E55 injector (318 hp in the NA engine) and reduce or eleminate the low load problems, but you still have the lower compression ratio, which basically just lowers the power output even more. The 7E55 injectors are the latest Calif. bus version and pretty much fix the smoke proble. The timing could be adjusted to partially compensate for the lower cr.

You can also take your question to the Hatteras Owners Forum, where there are several people with the model of engine and boat you are considering.