Old 08-05-2021, 02:57 AM   #1

City: Palma
Cummins VT555 low power & smoke

Hi, I'm trying to resolve a power loss issue on our VT555 and would appreciate any advice as I'm new to this engine. I've reset the injectors and valves as per the book and it runs sweet, and no smoke even at high RPM untill we put it under load. Turbos can be spun by flicking with the finger, but one of them is getting pretty hot, not enough to fry an egg but heading that way. Going to look at the elbow to see if sea waters leaking today.
Any ideas what I should check thro would be real welcome!
Robby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 04:57 AM   #2
Guru

City: Vermont
Under load, the exhaust is black and excessive? A faulty turbo or other loss of boost would be my first guess. Any chance of getting a pressure gauge on the intake to see how much boost you are getting?

Did all this happen before you reset the valves and injectors, and you did those steps trying to correct the problem? Or did you otherwise make those adjustments, and now this is the result?
Old 08-05-2021, 11:15 AM   #3

Not sureWe had mechanic on the job, he recommended changing the injectors, but he made it worse, even bent pushrods, so I was asked to check it over, finding he hadn't started at TDC Cyl. 1, so messed it up. I did it by the book, and there's no smoke at idle now, only under load. It's grey smoke.
There is also pressure feeding back into the tank, and this may be the new injectors which don't have the flattened rubber rings, but skinny round ones.
Maybe leaking gas back into the fuel feed.
I'm not sure how to check intake pressure though, is there a guide?
Old 08-05-2021, 04:39 PM   #4
Guru

City: Gibsons, B.C., Canada
Vessel Name: Island Pride
Vessel Model: Palmer 32'
Boost pressure needs a boost gauge connection or port on the air supply manifold somewhere between turbo and cylinders. Boost reading would help.