Best source of 15W-40 for my Cummins QSB

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Vessel Name
Escape
Vessel Make
Mariner 37
I’m preparing for my first solo oil change and need 4 gallons of appropriate 15W-40 per my Cummins manual. What is the best source, and is 15W-40 oil 15W-40 oil, or do common rail diesels need special oil?

is the engine under warranty? that really only matters if you care to use OEM recommended.

Otherwise, I have been using Rotella 15W40 for 30 years with no issues.

Walmart by far the least expensive I have found.

I’m preparing for my first solo oil change and need 4 gallons of appropriate 15W-40 per my Cummins manual. What is the best source, and is 15W-40 oil 15W-40 oil, or do common rail diesels need special oil?

Make sure the oil is diesel rated 15W40 oil and the API rating matches what the manual requires. I always use a big named brand oil, Shell, JD, or Chevron Delo but any oil that matches the specifications in the manual will work.

For information on API ratings, this link I quickly found might help, https://petroleumservicecompany.com/blog/new-engine-oil-specifications/

I buy oil at Walmart, my tractor dealer, and various auto parts stores. Which ever has the best price. Our local Costco does not have diesel rated oil I could use, which is odd, but if they had it, and the price was right, I would buy it. :D

I get my used oil tested at https://www.blackstone-labs.com/ One does not need to do the testing but I like to have the test results.

Later,
Dan

My QSB 380 is a 2007 and long out of warranty; it’s just my first oil change.

There is a big price difference between Rotella T4 and T6. What’s the difference in the product?

The Cummins manual indicates oil must meet CG or CH specs. Guessing those have both been surpassed by several API updates.