Any opinions on my engine?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Janusz

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Mo'Ana
Vessel Make
OA Europa 40
Hello;
I bought my boat repowered with Perkins Sabre M225Ti.

This engine was installed new in 2011 by the previous owner. I bought the boat, 1982 40' Ocean Alexander in 2015 with 360 hrs on this engine. Now the hours are 840.

I have no previous experience with marine diesels, but from my perspective this engine is literally perfect. It starts instantaneously every time and runs like a swiss watch. I am literally unable to think of anything negative about it, no matter how insignificant it might be.

This boat was built with Ford Lehman so now, with this Perkins you might think its overpowered, but if that is the case, it can only be a good thing. On a calm day with the sea state 0 I can attain hull speed at 1,900 RPM or even 1,800 RPM with the bottom just cleaned.

My fuel numbers are very low: 8 liters an hour on average. Normally I run at 1-1.5 knots below hull speed unless fantasy or need takes over. My hull is full displacement.

Your Perkins should do 2500 rpm.
A couple questions:
Will it do 2500 rpm in neutral?
At full throttle in gear, do you get black smoke in the exhaust from unburnt fuel?

If so you are over-propped. Get your prop resized to suit your engine and gearbox ratio.