1977 Marine trader questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Vandeusen

Hello everyone I am new to the trawler world I am coming out of a 1979 Silverton 34C twin engine 350 crusaders to my new experiment a 1977 Marine trader single engine Ford Lehman 120

My question in general discussion is going to be about the Marine trader of course, what I'm interested in knowing are things related to navigation fuel and cosmetics so to start my first question would be

Since the trawletr has a single diesel motor and it is in as tip top shape as I can get it what do other voters use as a backup? How far have you taken the boat out or you didn't have to worry about the fact that it's a single motor? Is it worth getting some kind of a sale to put on the mast boom that I have to at least have an emergency backup plan? Or what did you do? Thank you for your time guys I look forward to a long discussion in this form

A plan (membership) with an assistance towing company and a well sorted ground tackle (anchor, rode, windlass, etc) are the most straightforward solutions to providing peace of mind. These are a good idea for any boater but will help especially with your concerns about a single failure point. If you have faith in your anchor's ability to hold you in place for any probably destination or route you are headed, it will reduce the urgency of losing power. There is always the concern of losing power in a highly trafficked commercial shipping area, but you can mitigate this in many cases by staying to the edge of the channel, which you should be doing anyway.

Ask your boating neighbors about which tow company has the best coverage for your area and get a plan with them. Tow Boat US or Seatow are the the most common as far as I know.

Greetings,
Welcome aboard. Buy tow insurance as a backup.