Emergency boarding ladder

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I'm not a Mainship expert but it appears your swim step is based on a hull extension? If so, how deep is it at rest? Perhaps you mount a step permanently just above the bottom of the boat on the 'transom' of the step. That coupled with a grab handle on the top of the step might allow emergency boarding. All you've got to do is get some purchase with a foot and a handle to grab.

Yes, it’s essentially a hull extension. Not a bad idea. I’m already a slow boat, can’t see something like that adding much drag.

Soooo... Miz - You have both boats still?? Jus wonderen!! - Art

Hey Art:

Yes, but it appears we have a likely buyer for the big boat now. Since we lowered the price, potential buyers are coming out of the woodwork.

Sorry for the thread hijack!

Cheers,
Mrs. Trombley

I was also concerned about getting back on to boat after falling in. We also have a boarding ladder that is blocked by tender. After looking at everything available we settled on the Plastimo Safety Ladder in a bag. It mounts on the stern clear by dropping a loop of line over the cleat. We have a second length of line engine just short of the water that is attached to bottom step. This allows the person in the water to deploy when needed without additional help. It's not pretty but nothing else seemed easier to use in time of need.

Pretty comes in second to safety so if it works IMO it looks good..

Hi,

this topic is difficult to give general advice because people and circumstances are very different. Your own boat has proper stairs integrated into the swim platform and a good handle. The stairs work "just fine" when I go swimming.

I have been wondering if the crabs will no longer work when the clothes are full of water and the sea is not smooth.