Old 10-09-2021, 07:59 AM   #1
Guru

City: West Palm Beach
Vessel Name: Sun Dog
Vessel Model: Mainship 34
Cruising across Florida west to east

Newbie here (just wanted to get that out of the way). Planning to make the trip from Fort Myers to Stuart this month (Oct 2021) and looking for any tips or intel. If anyone else is planning the same trip would like to possibly go with others.
PhilPB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2021, 09:23 AM   #2

City: Cape Coral
Vessel Name: Tonic
Vessel Model: 2007 Mainship Pilot Sedan 34
It is a pretty straightforward trip, we completed it East to West at the end of May. Water levels should be pretty high, so you would have choice of routes on Lake O. Check the Local Notices for any alterations to bridge or lock schedules. We had to work around a closure of the Rzr bridge at Indiantown on our trip.

This link has tons of info

https://www.offshoreblue.com/cruise/okeechobee.php
Tonic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2021, 09:42 AM   #3
Guru

City: Alexandria, VA
Vessel Model: 2000 Wellcraft
Just be really careful to stay in the channel, when you're crossing the lake. I know a couple of people who got bent props when they they day dreamed and drifted just a little ways out of the channel. Especially when there's minimal water.

We went across one time. It was interesting, but not interesting enough for us to ever do it again. I'm much more enjoy going around through the keys.
Group9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2021, 10:11 AM   #4
Guru

City: Jacksonville Beach, FL
A pleasant trip, and a chance to see / experience parts of Florida that are invisible to most visitors. Any month from October until April or May is a nice time to make the crossing, IMO. If you've never locked through a canal before, the OW is a good place to develop your practices. Most of the locks are relatively low energy and thus low-drama. As noted, stay in the channels and you should have zero difficulty. Enjoy, and welcome to the TF!