Old 07-22-2021, 04:08 PM   #1

City: Pittsburgh
Total noob to boating

We recently got an RV and keep finding ourselves at places where there’s nice boating, so I’m here to mostly lurk and try to learn about boating and maybe get ideas on what we should get. (Kayaks come to mind first but honestly I don’t fancy the relative lack of stability in a kayak, if I’m going to end up in the water I want it to be because I went swimming.)

I’m a semi-regular lurker over on Cruisers Forum, which is how I learned about this forum. Ultimately my fiancé and I are thinking seriously about a boat - I was thinking sail but power has some advantages too - as an eventual replacement for our RV, if we decide we like boating and can stand being in a small space with each other all the time. But that’s years off. We both have a little experience sailing but not as captain, so there is a lot we need to learn about navigating and safety and so on.

For right now my absolute ideal boat would be one that can hold 3 people and a 125lb dog for casual cruising around small to medium lakes and rivers (we live in the Pittsburgh area so lots of rivers) and does NOT need to be trailered - we pull our car behind the RV now so our towing ‘spot’ is taken. So I want something that can go on the roof or inside the car. (It’s a Honda Element so there is a fair amount of interior space for something that is bulky but not long. I keep trying to figure out, for example, if a nesting dinghy would fit nested.)

I’m not at all certain such a thing exists, mind you, so we’ll just see how things go. I might have to give in and try kayaking anyway. (I can’t picture our dog in a kayak either - at 125lb if he decides to shift around a lot I can just picture the kayak going ‘flip’ and into the drink with him and whomever is with him.)

Anyway, I’m off to lurk.
Piratefoxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2021, 04:24 PM   #2
Guru

City: Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Vessel Name: Capricorn